Relays lift Spartans to track and field title

Relays lift Spartans to track and field title

ST. JOSEPH — Thanks to 36 points (out of a maximum of 40) from its four relays, St. Joseph-Ogden outpointed Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley on Friday to win the girls’ Spartan Classic.

Morgann Graham and Jaz Kates were on SJ-O’s triumphant 400- and 1,600-meter relays. They also ran on the runner-up 800 relay.

SJ-O’s Hanna Atwood won the pole vault.

Fisher’s Miranda Marry won three events, the 100, the 200 and the 300 hurdles.

Another multiple winner was Urbana Uni High’s Annemarie Michael in the 800 and 1,600.

SJ-O totaled 102 points. GCMS had 90.

Other Spartans on winning relays were Madi Smith and Kristen Hamer (400) as well as Aleesia Reeves and Alyssa Pridemore (1,600).

At Rantoul. Rantoul’s Tyrin White won the Corn Belt Conference discus crown with an area-best throw of 164 feet, 4 inches. Fourth-place Mahomet-Seymour won three events: Sam Hohlfelder (400), Alex Keeble (3,200) and Andrew Franklin (shot put).

In the girls’ meet, runner-up Mahomet-Seynour won five events. Twinkle Mehta won the 200 and 400 and joined Maddie Buzicky, Sarah Knight (the 800 champion) and Lauren Whitehouse on the winning 3,200 relay. Teammate Becky Tollackson won the pole vault. Rantoul’s titlists were Akalah Spinks (long jump) and Mercedes Porter (triple jump).

At Moweaqua. Emily Neuhauser and Amanda McClain each won two individual events for Sullivan/Okaw Valley at the Okaw Valley Conference meet at Central A&M. The Redskins also won the 800 relay, which included Neuhauser on the leadoff leg and McClain on the anchor. McClain set a meet record in the 400 meters (57.70).

Clinton’s 400 relay set a meet mark with its best time of the season (50.26). The foursome consisted of Erin West, Kaitlin Hayden, Morgan Witzke and Becca Anderson.

At Lockport. In a Class 3A field, St. Thomas More’s Nick Hess won the 1,600 meters at Lockport’s Bill Jackson Invitational (school-record 4 minutes, 24 seconds).

At Catlin. In the rain-delayed Vermilion County meet, team honors went to the Bismarck-Henning boys and Oakwood/Armstrong-Potomac girls.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments