Track and Field

Track and Field

All Iroquois County 2018 boys' track and field teams


SENIORS — Colin Krumwiede (Clifton Central); Lucas Lee (Watseka)

JUNIOR — Keegan Zack (Watseka)


JUNIORS — Jeremiah Norris (Clifton Central); Keegan Zack (Watseka)

SOPHOMORE — Justin Bunting (Watseka)

FRESHMAN — Jameson Cluver (Watseka)


2018 boys' track and field Coach of the Year: Todd Lafond

Coach of the Year: Mahomet-Seymour's Todd Lafond

2018 News-Gazette boys' track and field All-Area teams



Riley Baker Sr. Hurdles/sprints St. Joseph-Ogden

Mason Barr Jr. Hurdles/sprints Ridgeview/Lexington

Logan Hall Sr. Distance Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond

Jerry Harper So. Sprints Rantoul

Hunter Hendershot So. Throws Mahomet-Seymour

Meet the All-Area boys' track and field first team

Riley Baker

St. Joseph-Ogden, Sr., hurdles/sprints

Why he made it: Running on his future home track at Eastern Illinois, Baker starred for the Spartans at state by placing runner-up in the Class 1A 300-meter hurdles and anchoring SJ-O's 1,600 relay to eighth place.

2018 N-G All-Area Boy's Track and Field Team

A photo collection of The News-Gazette's 14th annual Boy's Track and Field All-Area First Team.

Ex-Chargers standout Vaughn saves his best for last

Luke Vaughn has been a popular guy since last Friday night. And for good reason.

"I keep getting phone calls and texts," the former Centennial athlete said Wednesday. "I'll probably be getting them more once it's in the paper."

Get to know the N-G all-area girls' track and field first team

Rachyl Anderson

Salt Fork, Sr.

Why she made it: The latest in a long line of Storm throwing sensations, the incoming Southern Illinois-Edwardsville athlete won a Class 1A sectional discus title before placing third at state.

SJ-O's Hamilton 'proud' after debut season, 'excited' for more

ST. JOSEPH — Atleigh Hamilton's first high school state track and field championships could have played out far differently than it did.

The St. Joseph-Ogden freshman went into the Class 1A preliminaries not only as a long-jump competitor, but also the anchor for three Spartan relays.

Get to know: SJ-O's Kelly Steffen

Why she's Coach of the Year: Steffen guided the Spartans to the Class 1A team state title, the first for SJ-O since 2000.

Final girls' track and field stat leaders

100 Meters

Athlete School Time/Distance

Ameia Wilson, Danville 11.59

Mattie Lieb, Monticello 12.53

Lakeida Nichols, M-S 12.65

Mya Tinsley, R/L 12.65

Katelyn Lang, Tri-County 12.68

Tanaya Young, Rantoul 12.69

Gabby Wessels, Milford/CP 12.76

Jyana Anderson, Urbana 12.81

Daisy Smith, BHRA 12.84