Gilenson's momentum still building

Gilenson's momentum still building

MAHOMET – Aryn Gilenson wants to win a state championship.

Saturday's effort at the Bulldog Invitational only strengthened his case.

The Champaign Central senior went 5-0 to win the 125-pound class at the prestigious wrestling meet at Mahomet-Seymour.

"Not to sound cocky, but I think I can get to state and win a state championship," Gilenson said. "Today showed I'm up there, that I can wrestle with the best and beat the best."

Gilenson was one of two area champs, Mahomet- Seymour's Jason Cleary taking the title at 189.

Gilenson decisioned Byron's Allen Fish 5-3 in the championship match.

"There were (19) teams there, and all (19) were competitive," Gilenson said. "This is definitely a confidence boost."

The Maroons placed sixth as Adam Acheson was third at 152 and Brandon Ward was third at 160.

M-S was third behind champion Lincoln-Way Central and York.

Cleary was dominant, pinning his final three opponents. In the championship match, he pinned Naperville Central's Matt Burns in 43 seconds.

"He had a really nice tournament," M-S coach Rob Ledin said. "He stayed offensive. It was a nice showing for him."

For M-S, Jared Ernst was second at 135 and Andrew Brewer was second at 171. Zach Ochs was third at 285 and Cody Briggs was third at 130.

At Urbana. Caleb Blaney's stellar season continued, the Urbana 215-pounder winning by pin in the championship match at the Urbana Invitational.

Jake Tammen was beaten in the semifinals at 135 for the Tigers.

Adam Lewis won the consolation championship at 160 for Urbana, going 3-1.

"As a whole, our team has come a long way this season," Lewis said. "We're a young team that's getting better."

At Normal. Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley dominated the 16-team field at the George Girardi U-High Invitational, winning six weight classes to finish first. Ross Brucker (125), Guy Kirby (135), Gage Merritt (140), Stephan Birt (152), Colten Unzicker (160) and Cody Flynn (189) won titles as the Falcons racked up 224 points.

Ryan Olivero (103), Elliott McClure (145) and Mac Seneca (285) placed third for GCMS.

Rantoul placed eighth.

At Vandalia. CJ Davison went 3-0 at 160 and Luke Dunn (119), Jake Lieb (145) and Ryan Mitsdarffer (189) each won twice as Monticello went 0-3.

At Cumberland. Wes Leemon (160) was undefeated and Andrew Colunga (285) and Ethan Ervin (135) each finished 3-1 as Hoopeston Area went 1-3, beating Olney.

Argenta-Oreana went 4-0 as Aaron Memer (103), Daniel Ball (130) and Cody Force (215) went undefeated.

At Kaneland. Andy Hoselton won the title at 135 to lead Prairie Central to second place at the 13-team Margaret Flott Memorial Invite. Josh Smith (125), Seth Welch (160) and Ben Diller (285) finished second for the Hawks. Alex Reis (145) and Tyler Farner (171) were fourth.

Categories (3):Prep Sports, Wrestling, Sports