White helps U.S. secure gold

CHEKHOV, Russia — South Carolina’s A’ja Wilson had 30 points and eight rebounds, leading the United States to a 78-70 women’s basketball victory against Russia in the FIBA U19 World Championship final on Sunday.

Illinois’ Chatrice White added 10 points and five rebounds in the victory.

Ex-Illini Scott walks the walk

URBANA — Jay Scott will tell you he’s past his golf prime, the pinnacle being his collegiate career with the Illini in the early 1990s. But after Scott’s relatively easy win at this weekend’s Twin City Championship culminating with rounds of 2-under-par 70 and 3-over 75 on Sunday at Urbana Country Club, there are about 75 other players from that field who would beg to differ.

Best of teams: No. 14, LSU

No. 14: LSU

COACH: Les Miles

2014 RECORD: 8-5


CIRCLE THE DATE: Nov. 7 at Alabama

Best of Illini: No. 14, Christian DiLauro

No. 14: Christian DiLauro, OL

Sunday Conversation: Rajeev Ram

Rajeev Ram won his second ATP singles title last weekend at the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships in Newport, R.I. — where he won his first singles title in 2009. Staff writer SCOTT RICHEY caught up with the former Illini and member of the 2003 national championship team on Tuesday before he started play in the Claro Open in Bogota, Colombia:

Bartsch, U.S. earn gold medal

TORONTO — The United States women’s volleyball team swept Brazil 3-0 (25-22, 25-21, 28-26) to take the gold medal at the Pan American Games on Saturday night.

Former Illinois outside hitter Michelle Bartsch hit 6 for 16 as the U.S. avenged a pool-play loss to Brazil.

First and 10: Big Ten Media Days participants

This week’s list:
Forty-two Big Ten players descend upon Chicago later this week for the league’s annual media days. Here’s 10 who should receive plenty of attention:

Connor Cook, Michigan State

Asmussen: Beckman ready to get back on field

CHAMPAIGN — The crowd was upbeat. And so was the coach.

If Tim Beckman is feeling any anxiety about the investigation into his football program, he sure didn’t show it during Wednesday’s Illini Quarterback Club Meet ’N Greet.

The second-year event was again held at Champaign’s Lincolnshire Fields Country Club.

Illini Legends, Lists and Lore: Harry Coffeen

Born on July 27, 1877, in Champaign was former Illini football and track letter winner Harry Coffeen. The graduate of Champaign High School matriculated to the University of Illinois, where he played football for head coach George Huff.