Champaign High School Athletic Hall of Fame

The Champaign High School Athletic Hall of Fame was initiated in 1962 by The News-Gazette. Individuals were nominated and voted into the Hall of Fame by people that lived in Champaign-Urbana. The paper collected nominees, and then published the list of candidates and a voting ballot. The first ballot contained the names of 15 outstanding former athletes from Champaign High and led to the induction of the five charter members of the CHS Hall of Fame. At some point the nomination/selection process was handed over to the Champaign High School C-Club and has continued that way today.

 Champaign High School athletics dates back to 1894 and has witnessed multiple State football championships (the first football title was in 1897,) six IHSA State Championships, 35 State placing teams, hundreds of Big 12 Conference, District, Regional, Sectional and Super-Sectional crowns and over 60 individual State Champions. CHS has also produced three Olympic Gold Medalists. The purpose of this book is to preserve the outstanding individual accomplishments of just a fraction of the student-athletes that walked the halls of Champaign High School. The individual athletic efforts would not have been made possible if it were not for the leadership and influence of former coaches Les Moyer, Fred Major Sr., Harry Combes, Harold Jester, Roy Swindell, Gene Ward, Tommy Stewart, Lee Cabutti, Charlie Due, Don Pittman, Jeff Trigger and Dike Stirrett. For orders of 25 or more, contact Marla Rupert at The News-Gazette - (217) 373-7405 or


Champaign High School  Athletic Hall of Fame Book Cover
Price: $25.00


Comments for this post are inactive.