3 Catlin teachers dismissed for economic reasons, would be first rehired

CATLIN — School officials honorably dismissed three teachers for economic reasons this week.

One full-time special education teacher and one half-time special education teacher at Catlin High School were dismissed, as was one kindergarten teacher.

Osher institute moves to M2

CHAMPAIGN — The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute will move to downtown Champaign this summer after eight years on campus.

It's official: Campus gets first new college in 60 years

URBANA — After a year of study, the first new college at the University of Illinois' flagship campus in almost 60 years is now official.

And the new Carle-Illinois College of Medicine already has its own website — — and slogan, "New College. New Medicine."

Easter will 'have plenty to do' after leaving UI presidency

URBANA — After almost 40 years at the University of Illinois, Bob Easter can start counting the time until retirement — his second retirement — in weeks instead of months.

On May 17, after presiding over one last graduation ceremony, the UI president will pass the torch to President-elect Timothy Killeen.

Architects: Apple Tree site best for new Monticello high school

MONTICELLO — After evaluating six possible sites, school district architects believe land near the Apple Tree subdivision may be the best spot for a new Monticello High School.

Updated: College of Medicine decision expected

URBANA — With trustee approval expected today, the University of Illinois will be on a "fast march" toward opening a new College of Medicine in Urbana by the fall 2017 target, officials say.

Updated: It's back to Interstate Drive

Submit your Letter to the Editor here

CHAMPAIGN — For the second time in five months, voters will decide whether a new Central High School will be built on 80 acres of farmland in northernmost Champaign.

Text of resolution on College of Medicine at Urbana


Resolution concerning College of Medicine on the Urbana-Champaign Campus Funding: Carle Health System in Partnership with the Urbana campus

Since you asked: What are chances for state OK of Dodds deal?

TODAY'S ONLINE QUESTION: Both the Champaign school and park boards seem confident they can get IDNR land-use restrictions lifted at Dodds Park, paving the way for a new Central HS to be built there. Is their confidence justified?

Med school proposal to be revealed

URBANA — After a year of study, a proposal for a new engineering-focused medical school in Urbana could get a green light from top university administrators today.