Prairie Adventures


Sandy Hughes' 3rd grade class from Westview Elementary school participates in the Prairie Adventures School Program at Buffalo Trace Prairie at Lake of the Woods in Mahomet  on Thursday, September 29, 2011. 


Danville plan details

Here are some goals and strategies outlined in a draft of the Danville schools' long-term strategic plan:

Academic achievement and curriculum

Schools have procedures for warning families

CHAMPAIGN — Both Champaign and Urbana school districts have procedures in place to notify parents when attempted abductions happen in the community.

Champaign school district spokeswoman Lynn Peisker said that, when the district learns about an attempted abduction, the principal of the school the child attends is the first to be notified.

Danville school board gets first look at strategic plan

DANVILLE — Expanding alternative programming for students, piloting a longer school day at one elementary school, increasing the number of minority teachers and developing an anti-bullying plan are just a few recommendations that students, staff and community members have for improving the Danville school district.

Transcript of president's back-to-school speech

Remarks by the president in back-to-school speech at Benjamin Banneker High School,  Washington, D.C.

THE PRESIDENT:  Thank you.  (Applause.)  Thank you very much.  Everybody, please have a seat.  Well, Madam President, that was an outstanding introduction.  (Laughter.)  We are so proud of Donae for representing this school so well. 

Champaign looking to hire new bus drivers

CHAMPAIGN — If you're looking for a job, have a flexible schedule and appreciate kids, perhaps the Champaign schools' bus driver recruitment fair is for you.

The Champaign school district is short of drivers and wants to recruit some new ones.

DACC Foundation plans honors program

DANVILLE — The Danville Area Community College Foundation will host its annual Honors Program for scholarship recipients on Friday at the Mary Miller Center gymnasium on campus, 2000 E. Main St.

The program will begin at 10 a.m.

Champaign magnet programs get $5 million grant

CHAMPAIGN — Magnet school programs in Champaign just got $5 million richer.

A three-year grant narrowly rejected last year by the U.S. Department of Education has been approved, providing $5 million for two magnet programs already under way at Booker T. Washington and Garden Hills elementary schools and a third planned for Stratton Elementary School.

UI professor wins NIH New Innovator honor

URBANA — Tricking dangerous bacteria into becoming harmless ones is the goal of a prize-winning chemist at the University of Illinois.

Douglas A. Mitchell, 31, is a winner of the 2011 National Institutes of Health Director's New Innovator Award, one of two in the state (the other at Northwestern University).

ThyssenKrupp Presta donates $20,000 to DACC

DANVILLE — ThyssenKrupp Presta Danville will donate $20,000 to the Danville Area Community College Foundation to support student scholarships, officials announced Monday.

The donation will be given over a five-year period and fund a total of four scholarships a year. Scholarships will be available for the current academic year.