Getting Personal: Larry Fredrickson


Listen to this article

Getting Personal is an email Q&A with a local personality. Here, a chat with 60-year-old Savoy resident Larry Fredrickson. The WDWS-WHMS-WUIL radio employee develops marketing plans for advertising clients and plays drums in the Tons O' Fun Band.

What time do you typically get up? What do you do the first hour of the morning?

5:30 a.m. I walk the dog, drink coffee, read The News-Gazette, check email and get ready for the day.

What did you have for lunch today? Where? With whom?

Chicken and dumplings soup at home with my wife, Joni.

Best high school memory?

Playing tympani in the Illinois Music Educators Association All-State Orchestra, considered at the time to be the top high school percussionist position in Illinois.

Tell me about your favorite pair of shoes.

My Nike walking shoes. They feel great.

What does a perfect Sunday afternoon include?

Rest and relaxation, including watching sports on TV and spending time with my family.

Was there one book you read as a child that you still cherish? Own? Read?

Thornton Wilder's "The Bridge Over San Luis Rey." I don't own it but will read it again. It had quite an impact on me. I guess I'm a believer in fate.

Where on Earth are you dying to go? Why?

It was Hawaii, but my wife and I went there recently to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Maybe someplace even more exotic like the Fiji Islands. That's a tough one — there are many places I'd still like to see, including some in the United States.

Tell me about your favorite pet.

I'm a dog guy, and our current dog, Tucker, a golden retriever, would have to be considered my favorite pet at this point, though I've had other dogs that I've been quite fond of sharing life with.

Have you discovered that you are becoming like one of your parents? Which one and how?

Probably more like my dad. I've been told I share a lot of his mannerisms and humor. I respect and admire my father a great deal, and if I can come close to becoming more like him, I will feel like I've accomplished something in my life. Or my mother for that matter, a saint of a woman.

What would you order for your last meal?

Steak and lobster. With carrot cake for dessert.

What can you not live without?

My family and music.

Who do you have on your iPod?

Everything from classical, blues, rock to country. Eclectic mix.

What's the happiest memory of your life?

Memories ... getting married and watching the births of our three children.

If you could host a dinner party with any three living people in the world, whom would you invite?

(Musicians) James Pankow, Todd Sucherman and Tris Imboden.

What's the best advice you've ever been given?

You can learn a lot from a dog. "Never ever give up (when wishing for food; can be applied to other things)" and "If you wait around long enough, something good will happen (like food falling on the floor; can be applied to other things)."

What's your best piece of advice?

See above.

What was your first job and how much did you make an hour?

Detasseling corn, and I think it was $5 an hour — a lot of money back then but hard work and not much fun.

What was a pivotal decision in your career and how did you arrive at that decision?

I had completed my bachelor's degrees in music and business administration and I thought how the heck can I put those two degrees together? Radio seemed like a good fit. I'm now going into my 27th year at WDWS-WHMS-WUIL.

Do you have a bad habit? What is it?

Many. I am working on that. Procrastination is one, though. I'll get back to you on the other ones.

How do you handle a stressful situation?

Deep breaths, think good thoughts. Ohhhhhmmmmm.