Listen to this article

The Alliance Chapter of the National Society of Daughters of the American Revolution and the Piankeshaw Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution are pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Good Citizens Award Program.

Each winner is a senior in his/her respective high school, and was selected by both faculty and class as the senior who best exemplifies the qualities of leadership, dependability, service and patriotism in their school, home and community.

Local winners include:

— Bement: Brittani Dalton and Dylan Upton

— Champaign Centennial: Claire Sherrick and Thomas Green

— Champaign Central: Grace Prom and John H. Smith

— Fisher: Bethany Musick and Dalton Burk

— Heritage: Fiona Ely and Jack Rushing

— St. Thomas More: Silia Znaniecki and Evan Marquart

— Judah Christian: Michelle A. Miller and Joshua Bergia

— Mahomet-Seymour: Ellen Bushell and Jordan Veldman

— Rantoul Township: Emma Larson and Carl Burts

— St. Joseph-Ogden: Rylee Sjuts and Benjamin Setterdahl

— Unity: Audrey Hancock and Zach Thomas

— University Lab: Annika Kimme and Abraham Seungyeop Han

— Urbana: Cara Munro and Luke Huffman

Winners will be honored at a joint DAR and SAR luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Friday at the Champaign Country Club. Also, Alliance Chapter will present an $500 scholarship to the Good Citizen selected by judges to be the Chapter Good Citizen Winner. Additionally, Alliance Chapter will present a $200 scholarship to each of four other Good Citizen winners who were selected based on their scores by the judges.