Listen to this article

CHAMPAIGN — The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch for East Central Illinois.

The tornado watch is in effect until 3 a.m. Tuesday for Champaign, Coles, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Moultire, Piatt and Vermilion counties.

Affected areas include the cities of Champaign, Charleston, Clinton, Danville, Mattoon, Monticello, Paris, Sullivan, Tuscola and Urbana.

A tornado watch means that conditions have created a significant risk of a tornado.


Tim Mitchell is a reporter at The News-Gazette. His email is, and you can follow him on Twitter (@mitchell6).