Listen to this article

The McDonald’s All-American boys' basketball game is once again in the spotlight tonight.

And once again, no Illinois men’s basketball recruit is on the roster.

Yet the Land of Lincoln will be well-represented tonight (8:30, ESPN) when the East meets the West in the 37th annual game.

The game has a decided Illinois flavor to it since it will take place at Chicago’s United Center for the fourth straight year.

Having three in-state prep players on the roster helps out, too.

Chicago Whitney Young center Jahlil Okafor (Duke) and Marian Catholic point guard Tyler Ulis (Kentucky) are both on the West roster, while Chicago Curie power forward Cliff Alexander (Kansas) is on the East squad.

Illinois has produced 22 McDonald’s All-Americans in the 21st century, but only two have chosen to play their college basketball in Champaign: Waukegan’s Jereme Richmond (2010 selection) and Proviso East’s Dee Brown (2002).

All told, 63 Illinois prep products have played in the game, which first took place in 1978.

Illinois has had representation in all two but games, with at least one player from the state being selected in 35 McDonald’s All-American games.

The absences came recently, too, in 2012 and 2009.

Here’s a more detailed breakdown on the in-state prep players who have donned a McDonald’s All-American uniform.


By year

2014 — Cliff Alexander, Tyler Ulis and Jahlil Okafor

2013 — Jabari Parker

2012 — None

2011 — Wayne Blackshear and Anthony Davis

2010 — Jereme Richmond

2009 — None

2008 — Iman Shumpert and Michael Dunigan

2007 — Derrick Rose

2006 — Sherron Collins and Jon Scheyer

2005 — Bobby Frasor and Julian Wright

2004 — Shaun Livingston

2003 — Shannon Brown

2002 — Dee Brown, Sean Dockery and Michael Thompson

2001 — Eddy Curry

2000 — Andre Brown and Darius Miles

1999 — Brian Cook

1998 — Cory Maggette, Quentin Richardson and Frank Williams

1997 — Melvin Ely and Marcus Griffin

1996 — Ronnie Fields and Michael Robinson

1995 — Kevin Garnett

1994 — Antoine Walker

1993 — Rashard Griffith

1992 — Chris Collins and Richard Keene

1991 — Tom Kleinschmidt and Howard Nathan

1990 — Jamie Brandon

1989 — Deryl Cunningham and Deon Thomas

1988 — Eric Anderson, LaPhonso Ellis and Raymond Thompson

1987 — Bill Heppner and Marcus Liberty

1986 — Nick Anderson and Phil Henderson

1985 — Lowell Hamilton and Ed Horton

1984 — Roger McClendon

1983 — Barry Sumpter and Daryl Thomas

1982 — Bruce Douglas and Efrem Winters

1981 — Walter Downing and Michael Payne

1980 — Russell Cross and Doc Rivers

1979 — Teddy Grubbs, Raymond McCoy and Isiah Thomas

1978 — Mark Aguirre and Chuck Verderber


By high school

Argo: Raymond Thompson

Bloom: Raymond McCoy

Champaign Centennial: Roger McClendon

Chicago Brother Rice: Bobby Frasor

Chicago Crane: Sherron Collins

Chicago Curie: Cliff Alexander

Chicago Farragut: Michael Dunigan, Ronnie Fields, Kevin Garnett

Chicago Gordon Tech: Tom Kleinschmidt

Chicago Julian: Sean Dockery

Chicago King: Rashard Griffith, Jamie Brandon, Marcus Liberty, Efrem Winters and Teddy Grubbs

Chicago Leo: Andre Brown

Chicago Manley: Russell Cross

Chicago Morgan Park: Wayne Blackshear

Chicago Mt. Carmel: Antoine Walker

Chicago Perspectives Charter: Anthony Davis

Chicago Providence St. Mel: Lowell Hamilton

Chicago Simeon: Jabari Parker, Derrick Rose, Deon Thomas, Nick Anderson

Chicago St. Francis de Sales: Eric Anderson

Chicago Westinghouse: Mark Aguirre

Chicago Whitney Young: Jahlil Okafor, Quentin Richardson

Collinsville: Richard Keene

Crete-Monee: Phil Henderson

Crystal Lake Central: Bill Heppner

East St. Louis: Darius Miles

East St. Louis Lincoln: LaPhonso Ellis

Glenbrook North: Jon Scheyer, Chris Collins

Harvey Thornton: Melvin Ely

Homewood-Flossmoor: Julian Wright

Lincoln: Brian Cook and Chuck Verderber

Lovejoy: Barry Sumpter

Marian Catholic: Tyler Ulis

Oak Park Fenwick: Corey Maggette

Oak Park-River Forest: Iman Shumpert

Peoria Central: Shaun Livingston

Peoria Manual: Frank Williams, Marcus Griffin and Howard Nathan

Peoria Richwoods: Michael Robinson

Providence Catholic: Michael Thompson and Walter Downing

Proviso East: Shannon Brown, Dee Brown and Doc Rivers

Quincy: Bruce Douglas and Michael Payne

Springfield Lanphier: Ed Horton

St. Joseph’s: Deryl Cunningham, Daryl Thomas and Isiah Thomas

Thornwood: Eddy Curry

Waukegan: Jereme Richmond


By college choices

Cincinnati: Roger McClendon

DePaul: Andre Brown, Quentin Richardson, Ronnie Fields, Tom Kleinschmidt, Howard Nathan, Deryl Cunningham, Bill Heppner, Teddy Grubbs, Raymond McCoy and Mark Aguirre

Duke: Jahlil Okafor, Jabari Parker, Jon Scheyer, Sean Dockery, Michael Thompson, Corey Maggette, Chris Collins, Phil Henderson

Fresno State: Melvin Ely

Georgia Tech: Iman Shumpert

Illinois: Jereme Richmond, Dee Brown, Brian Cook, Frank Williams, Marcus Griffin, Richard Keene, Deon Thomas, Marcus Liberty, Nick Anderson, Lowell Hamilton, Bruce Douglas and Efrem Winters

Indiana: Eric Anderson, Daryl Thomas and Isiah Thomas

Iowa: Raymond Thompson, Ed Horton and Michael Payne

Kansas: Cliff Alexander, Sherron Collins, Julian Wright

Kentucky: Tyler Ulis, Anthony Davis, Antoine Walker and Chuck Verderber

Louisville: Wayne Blackshear and Barry Sumpter

LSU: Jamie Brandon+

Marquette: Walter Downing and Doc Rivers

Memphis: Derrick Rose

Michigan State: Shannon Brown

North Carolina: Bobby Frasor

Notre Dame: LaPhonso Ellis

Oregon: Michael Dunigan

Purdue: Michael Robinson and Russell Cross

Wisconsin: Rashard Griffith

+Originally committed to Illinois



Chicago Bulls: Eddy Curry

Los Angeles Clippers: Shaun Livingston and Darius Miles

Minnesota Timberwolves: Kevin Garnett


Let’s not forget about the women, either.

Illinois will have a Class of 2014 recruit in center Chatrice White from Shelby, Neb., playing for the West team tonight (6 p.m., ESPNU).

She is the second Illinois recruit to play in the game since it was first started in 2002.

Destiny Williams played in the 2009 game before her brief career at Illinois, which consisted of one game before she transferred to Baylor.

No in-state prep girls’ player is on the McDonald’s All-American team this year, and Illinois has had more of a checkered history than its counterparts on the boys’ entering the game’s 13th year. Here’s a further breakdown:


By year

2014 — None

2013 — Linnae Harper

2012 — Jewell Loyd, Janee Thompson and Morgan Tuck

2011 — Ariel Massengale

2010 — None

2009 — None

2008 — None

2007 — Alison Jackson, Amy Jaeschke and Devereaux Peters

2006 — Amanda Thompson

2005 — Lindsay Schrader

2004 — Candance Parker

2003 — Britney Jordan, Erin Lawless

2002 — Lindsay Richards, Johanna Solverson


By high school

Barrington: Lindsay Richards

Bartlett: Lindsay Schrader

Bolingbrook: Morgan Tuck, Ariel Massengale

Chicago Whitney Young: Linnae Harper, Janee Thompson, Amanda Thompson

Lake Zurich: Johanna Solverson

Naperville Central: Candance Parker

New Trier: Amy Jaeschke

Niles West: Jewell Loyd

Oak Park Fenwick: Alison Jackson, Devereaux Peters and Erin Lawless

Peoria Woodruff: Britney Jordan


By college choice

Connecticut: Morgan Tuck

Iowa: Lindsay Richards and Johanna Solverson

Kentucky: Linnae Harper and Janee Thompson

Northwestern: Amy Jaeschke

Notre Dame: Jewell Loyd, Devereaux Peters and Lindsay Schrader

Ohio State: Alison Jackson

Oklahoma: Amanda Thompson

Purdue: Erin Lawless

Tennessee: Ariel Massengale and Candance Parker

Texas A&M-Commerce: Britney Jordan