The Latest

Plenty of folks throughout Monticello are no doubt thrilled after getting to stake their claim to some athletic history. The high school in Piatt County — and Loren Tate's alma mater — hosted a trophy giveaway on Wednesday, necessitated by some housekeeping tied to a renovations referendum that was approved last year.

Fifteen members of the present-day Little Okaw Valley Conference now have a new banner under which they’ll compete moving forward.Starting with the 2019-2020 school year, these institutions will be part of the Lincoln Prairie Conference. League president Matthew Shoaff, Okaw Valley’s principal, announced the title through a Tuesday press release.

Overshadowed by recent news of IHSA football going to a district scheduling format was a report just a short time earlier that affects many other high school sports.Last Monday, the IHSA released enrollment classifications for fall sports during the 2019-2020 and 2020-21 school years. This is the first piece of the IHSA's new two-year classification format.

Name, School Rnds Avg.Bowie, STM 27 37.9McCoy, Central 11 40.4Stringer, Monticello 19 43.0Mi. Kirby, STM 26 43.6Ring, Tuscola 10 44.3Sherrick, Centennial 18 44.9Long, Monticello 19 45.2Spangler, GCMS 17 45.3Ma. Kirby, STM 27 45.5Miller, STM 27 45.5Moody, GCMS 17 45.5Schroeder, Watseka 10 45.5

All-Area First TeamNAME YR. SCHOOLAlaina Bowie Jr. St. Thomas MoreMia Kirby So. St. Thomas MoreMackenzie McCoy Sr. Champaign CentralClaire Sherrick Sr. CentennialShannon Spangler Sr. GCMSMolly Stringer Jr. MonticelloAll-Area Second TeamNAME YR. SCHOOLSidney Hood Jr. Fisher

BOYSName, School Rnds Ave.BOYSName, School    Rnds    Ave.C. Ellis, Sullivan    18    35.7Pinter, Westville    12    36.5Richardson, Tri-County    12    37.4