Listen to this article

Thirteen individuals connected to local programs will be recognized as Illinois Basketball Coaches Association coaches of the year at an upcoming banquet.

Nine high school leaders and four junior high bosses were among those chosen by the IBCA. All will be honored at Normal's Redbird Arena during a May 4 event, which also will serve as the IBCA Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Area boys' high school coaches selected were Cissna Park's Kevin Long, Danville's Ted Houpt, Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley's Ryan Tompkins and Judah Christian's Bill Ipsen. The first two of that group stepped down from their respective positions after the 2018-19 season concluded.

Local girls' prep coaches chosen were GCMS's Keri Dornbusch, Ridgeview's Scot Ghere, St. Joseph-Ogden's Kevin Taylor, Sullivan's Sheri McCain and Watseka's Barry Bauer.

Joining those nine are Chase Gilliland (Prairieview-Ogden seventh-grade boys), Justin Taylor (St. Matthew eighth-grade boys), Anthony Videka (Cissna Park seventh-grade girls) and Bill Mulvaney (Gifford eighth-grade girls).

Prep Sports Coordinator

Colin Likas is prep sports coordinator at The News-Gazette. His email is, and you can follow him on Twitter (@clikasNG).